MariCar Experience, Tokyo | The Dragon Trip

MariCar, Tokyo – Optional Activity

Further information

This activity is organised by MariCar

This is a suggested independent activity for 2 hours. You can dress up as your favourite video game character and drive past Ginza, Ueno, Asakusa and Tokyo Skytree!

The price for this activity is £75 per person – to pay and book before your trip to Japan.

Do not forget to bring your passport and international valid permit for this activity.

Please, let us know as soon as possible before your trip if you want to join this activity, as it must be booked in advance.

How to get ready

To do the activity you will need to have a valid driving permit before arriving in Japan.


1) International Driving Permit (issued by signatories to the 1949 Geneva Convention)
For the USA – AAA; for the UK -AA or RAC or Post Office; for Australia – NRMA or RACQ or RACV or RAA or RAC or RACT or AANT


2) Foreign driving licence (issued in Switzerland, Germany, France, Taiwan, Belgium, Slovenia or Monaco) with Japanese translation by an authorised organisation.

If you have a domestic driving license of Switzerland, Germany, France, Taiwan, Belgium, Slovenia or Monaco, and its Japanese translation, you are allowed to drive in Japan for one year from the date of entry into Japan. Please take the following two documents and your passport with you.

In Switzerland Germany, France, Belgium, Slovenia, Monaco – an authorised organisation is Japan Automobile Federation (JAF) or your local Japanese embassy or consulate. Taiwan – an authorised organisation is Japan Automobile Federation (JAF) or 台北駐日経済文化代表処 (Tokyo, Yokohama, Osaka, Fukuoka, Naha), or the East Asia Relations Commission (亜東関係協会 – Driver’s LicenseCenter)



We are sorry to inform that Dragon trippers from the following countries are not permitted to drive in Japan (and thus cannot do Maricar):

Asia: Mainland China (except from Hong Kong and Macau), Indonesia, Pakistan, Vietnam, Iran, Myanmar, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Nepal, Afghanistan, Yemen, North Korea, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Palestine, Oman, Kuwait, Mongolia, Armenia, Qatar, Bahrain, Timor-Leste, Bhutan, Brunei, Maldives.

Europe: Andorra, Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Estonia, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Kosovo, Slovenia, Ukraine.

America: Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Surinam, Uruguay, Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

Oceania: Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Tonga, Tuvalu, Samoa.

Africa: Libya, Sudan, Western Sahara, Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Kenya, Mozambique, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania, Angola, Cameroon, Chad, Equatorial
Guinea, Gabon, São Tomé and Príncipe, Cape Verde, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritania.


Proceed Booking